• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

The placement of the speakers in the room and the sound quality.

Adi777

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Hi. I am interested in the topic - placing the speakers in the right place in the room.
According to some people, the columns must have the right amount of space on the sides and in the back.
I'm not an expert, but doesn't it depend on the specific room, the specific environment, the acoustics of that particular room?
Couldn't it be, for example, that in room X, the speakers Y will sound better in the corners of the room than, for example, 50 cm - 100 cm away from the side walls?
Regards

kiwifi

Hi. I am interested in the topic - placing the speakers in the right place in the room.
According to some people, the columns must have the right amount of space on the sides and in the back.
I'm not an expert, but doesn't it depend on the specific room, the specific environment, the acoustics of that particular room?
Yes
Couldn't it be, for example, that in room X, the speakers Y will sound better in the corners of the room than, for example, 50 cm - 100 cm away from the side walls?
Yes

Holmz

Major Contributor
Regards

Yeah - and whether the speakers radiate wide or narrow also enters into it.
So it is a problem with multiple variables.

And speaker toe-in is chucked in at some point.

alex-z

Yes, speaker placement has a huge impact on sound. Logically, the listening position also has a huge impact. Acoustic treatment + EQ can mitigate a lot of issues, but best practices should still be followed.

For example:

Do not sit close to a wall.

Distance from speaker baffle to each wall should be different.

Overall room and speaker layout should be symmetrical.

Common myths: