• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

THD+N, SINAD and an amateur's struggle to understand what these things mean

I just spent approximately two hours browsing the internet in pursuit of information regarding the specifications Amir measures. As I am not an electrical engineer and most of the sources I found seemed to be aimed at people in that field or a similar one, I had some trouble interpreting my findings/translating them to words I am (semi-) capable of understanding. I guess my intentions mostly boil down to verifying and, if need be, correcting my interpretations.
1) Ostensibly, THD+N is equivalent to SINAD if measured under the same conditions. Is that true?
2) SINAD/THD+N is, in layman's terms, the ratio of the signal itself to all "undesirable" parts/factors.
I guess the way my questions are written shows how uneducated I am on this particular topic (I'm a high school senior who hasn't had physics classes for approximately five years). Thus, I would greatly appreciate answers formulated in a comparably simplistic manner, if at all possible.

vitalii427

Forum Donor
1) It’s not equivalent. It’s the same thing but expressed differently. THD+N usually expressed in percentage, SINAD in dB. For example: 1% (THD+N) = 40 dB (SINAD)

Actually, SINAD is a reverse expression of THD+N:
SINAD = 1/(THD+N)

And both can be expressed in dB and %.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decibel

I think the only reason why Amir uses SINAD is that it is easier to compare.
100 dB (SINAD) = 0.001% (THD+N)
101 dB (SINAD) = 0.0008913% (THD+N)

I hate to count those zeros.

Last edited:

dc655321

Major Contributor
Although yes, it is also aimed at an EE/physics audience, this paper contains your answers.