• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Suggestion Amp for Sony MDR-Z1R Headphone

mikestrok

Hi there, Newbie here
Im currently using iPhone to stream Tidal, and using Sony Phase-2A Portable amp to paired with Sony MDR-Z1R Headphone.
For casual listening they are fine. However im looking for a Desktop Amp to drive the Z1R or (may be a more powerful portable amp).
Was thinking RME ADI-2 DAC FS / Sony TA-XH1ES / IFI Neo iDSD DAC to best synergy with my headphone.
Suggestion are welcome.
Thanks in advance.

staticV3

Master Contributor
The MDR-Z1R is a pretty efficient headphone. Sony themselves spec it at 112dB/Vrms, while Innerfidelity measured 109.5dB/Vrms.
Using inner's results, here are the power requirements:
Screenshot_20220215-162535_Chrome.jpg

Low noise should be high up on your list of priorities.
Your $1000-1200 budget I think is complete overkill, as you can get a flawless Amp for little over $100 nowadays.

Take a look at Schiit, SMSL, Topping, Geshelli, JDS Labs. They all make great stuff.

OP
M

mikestrok

The MDR-Z1R is a pretty efficient headphone. Sony themselves spec it at 112dB/Vrms, while Innerfidelity measured 109.5dB/Vrms.
Using inner's results, here are the power requirements:
View attachment 186856

Low noise should be high up on your list of priorities.
Your $1000-1200 budget I think is complete overkill, as you can get a flawless Amp for little over $100 nowadays.

Take a look at Schiit, SMSL, Topping, Geshelli, JDS Labs. They all make great stuff.
Thanks for the reply, any idea which one have the best synergy with the Sony Z1R?

staticV3

Master Contributor
Thanks for the reply, any idea which one have the best synergy with the Sony Z1R?