• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Subwoofer integration with integrated amplifier (no DSP)

firestart3r

Hello all,

Newbie here...
I would like to add a subwoofer to my stereo system to have a bit more punch when listening to movies. My question is concerning subwoofer integration with my integrated amplifier.

I was thinking to try a subwoofer "the easy way" without buying a miniDSP flex + microphone... to try and see if I like the sound in my room.
Also, my other objective is to diminish the costs of making this "sound experiment". :p

For that, I was looking at my bookshelf speakers spinorama to try to determine at what crossover frequency to set on the subwoofer.
My understanding is that looking at the speakers slope, I could calculate a "starting point" for the subwoofer's low pass filter crossover frequency ? Is that a good approach ?

If yes, can you guys tell me how to calculate the slope on the PSB P5 ? Im a bit confused...

Is it a -14 db / -21db slope ? -7 db / -22.5 db slope ?
100hz = +1 db
80hz = +1 db
50hz = -6 db
40hz = -13 db
25 hz = -28.5 db
20hz = -34 db

What slope should I look for when shopping for subwoofers for the speaker to "naturally" match the speaker's slope ? Is it possible to find the slope of the subwoofer without taking measurements ? Maybe the manufacturer can give me that information or I could use a spinorama data for the sub if I find it online ?

How can I integrate the subwoofer when they have a fixed 12db or 24 db/octave slope ? Is it really bad if they don't match perfectly ?
If it's not too bad and I manage to get the slopes of the two devices (speakers and sub), how can I calculate the best crossover frequency for the low pass filter?

So many questions... o_O