• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Sub integration: Choosing good approach for my system (miniDSP 2x4 vs solving software challenges)

mfur

Hello,

I recently obtained second subwoofer for my first "real" home cinama / music reproduction system. Now I would like to get most of it: integrate subwoofers together for both relatively flat response and high efficiency and integrate them with mains. I also intend to play with correcting phase of mains and surrounds etc. I am new to all this, but getting familiar with REW, MSO, Rephase, VoiceMeeter Banana and EqualizerAPO in the last weeks. All very impressive software.

Now I am going to order UMIK 1 and contemplating whether I should pick easy to use but limited MiniDSP 2x4 (HD) together with it or try to use (much more powerful) software DSP with additional hardware.

My components:
- Intel NUC NUC8i3BEH as primary source
- Sony STR-DN1050 AVR (HDMI in)
- 2x Monoprice Monolith 10 THX subs
- B&W DM602 S2 mains + B&W LCR60 S3 center
- 2 surrounds from Infinity HCS series

As a play POC for software solution I used 3.5mm connection out of NUC going to active subwoofers. This could be replaced with dedicated 2-channel DAC. Then l used VoiceMeeter and EqualizerAPO to send sub-80Hz to subwoofers via this DAC and above-80Hz to AVR. Of course immediate problem was that volume was mismatched between AVR and DAC.
So that is my first question: how do you usually tackle volume synchronization when using multiple different DAC/amps? Average AVR does not have enough inputs/outputs to pass everything through it, especially additional subwoofers.