• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Strange phenomenon positioning the speakers

FrankBRC2

Good evening everyone,

I'm facing a strange situation and I thought I could use your help.

I have no experience in hifi gears, I just love listening to music and I wanted to improve the sound quality.

So I bought my first passive system, simple system.

Parassound hint 6 connected to my PC, and Kef r3 speakers.

Before, I only had active speakers, Yamaha, KRK, Edifier s3000 pro, all on stands far from the desk, because of the desk space. They all sounded bad. I even bought two dacs, I imported Topping d90 and then gustard x26pro, which made little difference in the results.

It was then that I thought of investing in something more expensive. It was frustrating not hearing the improvement the seller promised me.

I have to buy everything online, I can't audition. There are no stores in my state that sell these products. Got to read and listen to reviews, lots of them.

One day I put the r3 on the floor to put the edifier speakers on the stand to make a comparison. The Edifier 3000pro has a built in dac, so I connected an long optical cable to the PC. I listened a little and changed the settings on the PC to listen to Parasound + Kef (speakers on the floor).

I had a shock. The songs gained bass, dynamics. Life. I did the same thing with the edifiers. Again, the sound was much better than on the stands.

So I thought the problem was the cheap stands I have. I bought a much better stand. Heavy, steady, 70kg capacity each. For my surprise, same result as the cheap stands I already had.

So after some tests, I saw that as I lifted the speakers the sound got worse and worse.