• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Stats and Beethoven...

PierreV

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Funny coincidence with the statistical thread, Google Now told me to look at this...
I can see advanced generative models showing up in the next few years... (as they did with text, some of them not fully explained given their potential for abuse)
I wonder how I would react to new pieces by a fully believable Beethoven.

https://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0217242

PaulD

Hi Pierre, "fully believable Beethoven" won't happen. However, "able to fool the general public or reporters Beethoven" has already been done. I did my PhD in Algorithmic Composition. Even David Cope who has made a career out of promoting these sorts of ideas (see Experiments in Musical Intelligence) has not addressed what is called the Theory Problem, viz:
Composition is more than an application of music theory, as a creative process it breaks rules and makes rules at will to suit its needs. Computers cannot do that yet.

Music theory is created by analysing a bunch of compositions and finding common rules, ignoring the anomolies, thus it is a reductive process. Composition is an expansive process, and it a computer applies music theory rules to create music, then the result is average, because of the averaging of the rule set. The way to overcome this is to use controlled randomness, a la Xenakis or Koenig, to create compelling and sophisticated compositions.