• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SPDIF Optical Cables, can they perform different?

simplywyn

I have a cheapo SPDIF audio cable from amazon, and thick, braided fancy metal / gold ended SPDIF cable that someone gave me when I bought the Topping D90 off them.

When I plug in my Amazon SPDIF cable and the other Gold ended one, the gold ended one seems to sound better.

As an engineer, I think this is complete horseshit as I've work with optical cables and it has nothing to do with audio quality, basically you either get it or you don't.

Anyone know something I don't here? As far as I'm concerned, this is the HDMI problem, a $5000 HDMI cable doesn't perform any better than a $5.

Anyone care to tell me I'm an idiot for thinking it sounds better (and prove that SPDIF cables matter?)

antcollinet

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
It doesn't sound different.

Unless the cheap one is so bad data is being lost cauing pops/crackles, then the sound is identical.

The only exception might be if the receiving device is so poorly designed that it uses the recovered clock from the data stream to clock the DAC - thus causing excessive jitter, and then only if the optical fibre in the cheap cable is so crap that it significantly distorts the optical signal. Certainly braid/gold/metal can made no difference for an optical cable.

Any decent DAC (even the cheap ones) generate a local stable clock for clocking the DAC, thus effectively eliminating jitter.

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
When I plug in my Amazon SPDIF cable and the other Gold ended one, the gold ended one seems to sound better.
"Placebo effect". ;) What is a blind ABX test?