• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Source vs Dac vs Amp Volume

First of all I just want to say I am very new to audio and would appreciate it if you could explain everything in plain english that even a 5 year old could understand :).

I have been doing some reading on what the best settings are when it comes to volume on my computer connected to my SMSL D1 DAC via toslink cable then xlr out to my Cayin IHA-6 for highest fidelity. I have always set the volume on my computer and Tidal to 100%. On my D1 I have it set to 25 (max is 38) since, as I understand it, the D1 is changing voltages when you do this and I would like to keep the DAC cool. On my Cayin I keep it at low gain, low quiescent current, if I can get the headphones loud enough (using 4pin-xlr out) without going past 12 o'clock, if not, I put it at high gain, low current.

So, can someone please explain what settings I should use on my computer/player, on my DAC, and what I should use on my amp for best audio quality/lowest noise possible? Also, please can someone explain what the F*** quiescent current is and whether I should be using low or high quiescent current, and whether it matters how much I turn the volume knob on my amp? And is 24 bit/48k usually the best when listening to say Tidal for instance? Thank you for any help, I know it's a lot of questions.

Side note: What filter is best on the D1? So many filters, and I don't really know what they do, but I do hear a very small difference.

Last edited:

twsecrest

Addicted to Fun and Learning
The device (amplifier), at the end of the audio train, should be the device used to control volume.