• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

sound pressure level due to sensitivity or open (closed) back characteristics?

blanc

Hi,

I’m new to this field. I just used a mobile player to drive one open back hp (sensitivity = 103dB) and one closed back one (sensitivity = 98dB) in SE mode. I found out with the same volume configuration the open back hp creates a much weaker sound pressure level. Is this due to sensitivity or open (closed) back characteristics? Am I going to ge the same phenomenon with a balanced cable (I don’t have one yet)?

MaxwellsEq

Major Contributor
I don't think it's possible to answer this without knowing more facts. For example, is one pair high impedance and the other low impedance and what are the characteristics of the amplifier?

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Of course, the more sensitive headphone should be louder. But you can't always trust the manufacturer's specs. ;)

Maybe one is rated in Volts/millivolts and the other in Watts/milliwatts?

Balanced/unbalanced doesn't make any difference in sensitivity but most balanced outputs put-out twice the voltage (+6dB) in balanced mode.

OP
B

blanc

I was talking about open-back Ananda and closed-back Sundara. I don’t remember the player. It’s not mine, but a conventional portable hardware media player.

staticV3

Master Contributor
I found out with the same volume configuration the open back hp creates a much weaker sound pressure level. Is this due to sensitivity or open (closed) back characteristics? I was talking about open-back Ananda and closed-back Sundara.
Sensitivity already takes the headphone construction (open/closed) into consideration.