• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Some questions about DACs, amps and m1070 headphones.

Anemone

Hi! I apologize if I'm asking this in the wrong forum, or if these sorts of questions don't belong on this site at all. I wanted to ask on this site, though, because I've been a bit financially burned recently by the subjectivity of the audio community.

First question: do I really need a DAC?
I read Amir's post and thread about "do I really need a DAC/AMP?" but I'm a huge newbie and I became extremely lost in the conversation. I have a Maximus Hero IX motherboard, and the DAC it uses is ESS Sabre Hi-Fi ES9023P. I'm not really sure if that helps, but does anyone know if I would notice any changes in sound quality by purchasing a Topping D10s, e.g. clearer or cleaner sound?

I feel like I should note that I'm using Windows drivers and not the Realtek drivers, because I am plagued with intermittent popping/crackling on the Realtek drivers. It's a known issue with the motherboard line that hasn't been addressed in years. I don't know if this affects the DAC or amp.

Second question: is the Liquid Spark amp enough to power the Monolith m1070?
I read some things about planar headphones being more difficult to drive because of current. I learned a little about this, but don't feel informed enough to make a good amp decision. I decided I need one, though, because my computer is struggling to power my headphones to higher volumes, especially with EQ. Could anyone tell me if the Liquid Spark amp would be enough to drive these headphones?
Links:
Amp
https://www.amazon.com/Monolith-Liq...spark+amp&qid=1614166632&s=electronics&sr=1-1
Headphones