• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Solder Info for DIY Headphone Cables

Racheski

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I am a purchasing equipment to make DIY Headphone Cables for a HD800s, and it would be great if the community could check the soldering materials & equipment I plan to purchase. I read through these posts on the forum:
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/flux.12645/
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/rca-soldering-on-a-pcb.9577/
Please note this is my first DIY headphone cable, and I have zero soldering experience. I probably will do the work on top of my granite kitchen island.

Soldering Station: Hakko FX-888D ($105)
It is about double the price of more budget options, but from what I have read it is highly recommended. I like its modular design, and seems like this would be the first and last hobby-grade soldering iron I would need to purchase.

Solder Wire
I'm not in love with the thought of purchasing lead-based solder, but my research says lead-free is more difficult to work with (especially for beginners) because of a higher melting temp, and a longer dwell time. I am aware that the EU banned the use of lead in electronics in 2006, but metal lead is very inert so as long as I practice good hygiene, I think I'll be OK.
I plan to use 63/37 solder since it is eutectic and more beginner-friendly according to this guy (https://neurochrome.com/pages/choosing-solder). With that out of the way, let's look at some price points and options for 63/37 on Amazon:
RadioShack 1.5 oz 1.27mm 63/37 - $4.67/oz
MAIYUM 100g 0.6mm 63/37 - $2.81/oz
Kester Rosin Core 1lb, 0.5mm 63/37 - $2.31/oz
J&F Rosin Core 100g, 0.5mm 63/37 - $1.98/oz