• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

smsl sa98e: 3w power consumption...

terragonj

Hi.
I bought an smsl sa98e. Class D, 160wpc and it comes with a 36V/5.0A power brick.
Out of curiosity, I hooked it up to a wattmeter. At about half volume (the highest I can bear)
the wattmeter reports less than 3 watts....
neither the amp nor the brick get even minimally warm...
How is that possible?

John

PS: I'm really not an expert on amps, but what I've described above seems physically impossible at those
specs (unless I bought a fake empty shell, albeit a very LOUD one :) )

Holmz

Major Contributor
Well 1 watt per channel would be poking out 90dB SPL… Peaks will be higher but RMS is low.

Loathecliff

At about half volume (the highest I can bear)
Don't forget that the ear hears logarithmically.
(I've assumed you were not listening to a continuous sine wave)

MaxwellsEq

Major Contributor
How many watts you need depends on the efficiency of your loudspeakers. If you have efficient speakers and you are close to them, then 3 watts will be all you need. But, what were you measuring? Were you measuring the mains consumption or at the speaker terminals? If the latter, your watt meter may not have enough bandwidth and may under record.

jae

Major Contributor

Use the "Amplifier Power Required" calculator. If you have fairly efficient speakers, they will not need much power especially if playing at lower volumes. Apart from speaker sensitivity, the practical amounts of power required can go up exponentially if your listening distance increases or you need to play very dynamic music and loud average levels and require big chunks of headroom.

Maybe OP will see this after three years...

Loathecliff