• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SMSL SA300 / Infineon Class D

mslim

Really curious how this chip based amp will measure up. Not expecting it to beat Hypex but how much of an improvement is it to previous chip amp?

VMAT4

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
I posted about this model on another thread. And, I'm curious as well. I wish it was advertised as an integrated instead of a power amp. It has a volume nob. Which, can not be defeated, as I understand.

I just don't have a spare $140 to purchase it and have it reviewed.

Duckeenie

Chip Specs : I'm no expert but it seem like more of what we've come to expect.

Koeitje

Major Contributor

Matias

Master Contributor
Forum Donor

Toku

Major Contributor
Hello all,
I was very interested in the SA300 at the same time as the announcement, but there was little review information and I was confused about the purchase, but I decided to buy it.
Below is the impression I used

We use SMSL M500, Topping DX3 Pro, D50s USB-DAC connected to the RCA input, but it's a nice and clean sound.
The sound rises quickly, and the sound field expression is full of high-speed, wide-range and full of transparency.
Until now, we have purchased and used many highly-rated Chinese digital amplifiers such as Topping TP60 PA3, SMSL SA-98E, and INDEED, but this unit completely outperforms them.
Infineon is a German company but MERUS MA12070 chips are born in Denmark. I think its ability is amazing. Until now, STMicro's TDA7498E chip was the most popular, but it completely outperforms it.
However, there is no detailed measurement data for SA300. I hope that it will be measured as soon as possible on the ASR Forum.