• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Small DAC comparison: Shanling M0 vs Sabaj Da3

mikeysmusic

Hey everyone!

Is the Sabaj Da3's Amp/DAC much better than the Shanling M0's?

I'm anticipating this response, "Those two aren't comparable!" I'm brand new to this wonderful world of audio, so I won't be sad if I hear that :)

I know the M0 has a DAC/Amp built in (in addition to its other incredible features such as it being a DAP), and I know the Da3 is purely an Amp/DAC. If the M0's power and quality compares to the Da3, I might as well invest in the M0, yes?

Thanks everyone!

Last edited:

L5730

Addicted to Fun and Learning
The reason I think folks are saying "they aren't comparable" is that the Sabaj Da3 is a portable USB DAC + Headphone amp, whilst the Shanling M0 is a portable player with a battery, bluetooth, card reader with an inbuilt DAC + headphone amp, as well as the ability to be used as a dumb USB DAC itself or be connected to a USB DAC to bypass it's own converter - an awful lot of stuff going on.

USB DAC/Headphone amp vs. Do-all music player device.

Sabaj Da3 uses a familiar XMOS U208 USB controller chip and a pair of ESS 9018Q2C DAC chips (which are also have an integrated headphone amplifier).
The Shanling M0 uses ESS 9218P DAC chip (with integrated headphone amp) and this chip seems to be a more mobile/cell phone intended chip, with features such as 'voice' mode to do quick 'n' dirty decoding for non-HiFi (voice call) use. I don't know about anything else in it.