• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Single Ended DAC - Balanced VS Unbalanced on THX AAA 789

Shoaibexpert

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I am new to High End audio and have the Dragonfly Red (single Ended) DAC and have the Massdrop THX 789 Amp that has both balanced and single ended inputs and outputs.. My question is since the DAC is single ended, would connecting the DAC to the Dual XLR inputs of the Amp using a 3.5mm to dual Xlr cable (converter) make a difference n sound as compared to a 3.5 to dual Rca input?

Also on the Headphone output side, I have the HiFiMan Sundara headphones which currently runs on Single ended cable, would buying and connecting a 4 pin XLR cable for the headphones benefit me over the stock single ended cable... Specifically in terms of sound quality (width, clarity, staging, depth etc.). I AM NOT looking for simply more power as the Sundaras are not that hard to drive.

Just to put things in perspective, the cheapest and slightly reliable 3.5 mm to XLR cable is costing US$ 38 and the 4 Pin XLR headphone cable is costing US$ 52....need your help to find if this investment of around a hundred bucks is really worth it? Thanks guys!

PS. I have no humming or interference problems in my setup... Just place the huge magnet power transformer away from the electronics and you should also be fine in case if you're having this problem.

OP
Shoaibexpert

Shoaibexpert

Thanks @amirm ...really admire your work!