• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Should I get an Amp/DAC for senn 660s?

markosixtynine

I'm a beginner looking to get into the audio world and i've found a good deal on some Senn 660s, and I want to get them. My primary use for them will be listening to music like most audiophiles, primarily just streaming from Spotify premium (side note, is it worth it to look into a service like Tidal, or does it not make a noticeable difference in regards to streaming quality/bitrate?) My secondary use for these would be competitive gaming like CS:GO as I've heard the 660s have a good soundstage and are real good at detecting footsteps and directionality of them.

This begs the question for me, is it worth it for me to pick up an Amp and/or DAC? I was just gonna get a standard magni/modi schiit stack but I want to know if this is even necessary for me. I'll be running the 660s from my PC, which is a custom rig that has an MSI PRO Z690-A motherboard. Not sure what exactly that means my computer is capable of soundwise and how much difference an Amp and/or DAC would make. I want very high quality audio if I'm going to be buying the 660s cans but I want to know if the Schiit stack would make a noticeable difference for me.

Any info or tips would be much appreciated, thanks

twsecrest

Addicted to Fun and Learning
The motherboard uses Realtek ALC897 on-board audio.
Stack of Schiit sound good :)

KeithPhantom

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor