• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Setting a turntable

Schubert1

Hello everyone. I am an audio noob, so please bear with me.

I have a pair of Adam Audio T5V active speakers and recently I bought a turntable for my record collection.

I have a problem connecting the turntable to my speakers.
My turntable is Pro-Ject RPM 4, and has no preamp. I bought an external preamp.

It has red and white RCA iutputs, while my speakers have red unbalaced output und XLR balanced ones.

My problem is that when I connect the rca output(red and white cable) to my speakers via 3.5mm cinch and red and black XLR cable, the sound comes only from one speaker. When i switch the cables, the other speaker works.

Any help would be appreciated!

Peace, Dino. :)

Tremolo

A lot of confusion. Preamp has outputs and active speakers have inputs. You have to connect the red rca from the Preamp to the rca input of the right speaker, the white to the left speaker.

Count Arthur

Major Contributor
Looking at the rear of the speakers, you have an unbalanced input:

1653044221490.png

So place the speakers where you want them and use an RCA cable from the left output RCA of the phono amp to the left speaker and vice versa.

On most equipment, a red RCA socket is typically right and black or white the left, but on the speakers, it's irrelevant as both speakers are the same and are left or right depending on where you place them.

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor