• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Seeking recommendation for Bluetooth DAC/AMP

Ty Bower

I'm looking for something portable to use with an iPhone 12. It will likely be paired with other devices in the future. Bluetooth is the required connection. My headphones are Audio Technica ATH M50x and Sony MDR V6. I believe both are of moderate impedance (32~64 ohms) and reasonably efficient. I do not prefer the volume loud, nor the bass heavy.

I had been using an Audio Technica AT-PHA50BT for quite a few years. I believe this device was released around 2015. Honestly, I have no complaints about the PHA50. It would be nice if it could simultaneously charge & play, but such is life. I'd buy another, but they are not especially easy to find. They also tend to be on the pricier side when they are found. Certainly technology has made advances since it was released.

Amir did a very nice review of the Qudelix 5K.
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...qudelix-5k-bluetooth-dac-headphone-amp.17386/

Asylum Seeker suggested some kind of round-up for exactly the kind of device I'm trying to find. Unfortunately, the thread does not appear to include any reviews, nor useful conclusions.
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...usb-dac-amp-bluetooth-receiver-devices.11577/

At the moment, I'm leaning toward the FiiO BTR3K. I could be swayed toward the more expensive BTR5 if someone thought the additional power output would be of any tangible benefit to me.

Thanks in advance for any recommendations.

bobbooo

Major Contributor
Qudelix 5K, primarily for the parametric equalizer, which will allow for a greater improvement in sound quality of a headphone than any other differences between competently designed DAC/amps.