• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Schiit Saga preamplifier

tatami

I need to replace my preamp. The replacement will need to pair with my Quad 606, which drives Quad ESL 63s. FWIW, the audio feed is Roon via a microRendu and a Chord Qutest.

I am considering buying a Schiit Saga. I'm not an audio engineer or scientist so I'm not in a position to evaluate test measurements but there are what look like some pretty impressive ones at https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/saga-preamp-technical-measurements.3780/. I'd really value your take on these, not least because I've read some very disparaging remarks about Schiit kit on these forums.

So, with the Saga, has Schiit managed to design and produce a good product or am I being blinded by science?

Thanks for any insights.

helloworld

It looks like to me that this “superbestaudiofriend” site has some relations with Schiit......

andreasmaaan

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
That’s true, or at least it’s a hub for Schiitheads, but that doesn’t mean that their measurements can’t be trusted does it? Or does atomicbomb have a history?

Anyway, apart from a high amount of power supply noise (just borderline audible in some exceptional circumstances I’d guess), this unit looks like it measures well.

Given it’s a preamp, some measurements at lower volume levels would have been good to confirm it’s linearity and channel-matching when used as intended.

Last edited:
OP
T

tatami

That's awesome, Amir. I'll be fascinated to read your review. Unfortunately, I may have to make a decision before that though. I have a Saga arriving for audition this Friday. Of course, if you could find the time to do some measurements over the weekend… ;)

sergeauckland