• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Room Node Calculators - What Does It Mean?

watchnerd

Grand Contributor
I thought I understood room nodes reasonably well (I mean, I did my undergrad in applied physics in signal processing, so I can't be too ignorant), but I recently started playing with this calculator:

https://amcoustics.com/tools/amroc?l=22&w=17&h=12&ft=true&r60=0.6

According to this, the Schroeder freq. of my room = 137.5 Hz

Okay, I get that.

But the Bolt Area and Bornello Modes...I'm not really getting those.

Can anyone explain?

Or is this all overkill and should I be using a different, simpler calculator?

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Don't know what you are talking about. But some googling shows Bolt ratios come from a 1946 JAES paper by R.H. Bolt. He did something with standard deviation of room modes etc etc. He suggested the 2:3:5 ratio I'd seen before by others.

Here is a bolt graph where height of room is 1. You want your ratios for the other two sides to fall inside the shaded area.

1562988701825.png

Bonello modes only apply below 200 hz according to this. Yet he also developed a graph that looks pretty much like the Bolt one. His work was later and he tried to take into account frequency regions of modal effects based upon ERBs.
https://www.acousticfields.com/ideal-room-size-ratios-apply-bonello-graph/

This paper here has some good info if you wish to get more involved. I'd say maybe Schroeder and Bonello would be the important things to look at.
http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/download?doi=10.1.1.478.2817&rep=rep1&type=pdf

Or same paper as above. A little cleaner format.
http://eprints.hud.ac.uk/id/eprint/...l_listening_spaces-bfazenda-phdthesis2004.pdf