• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

RME ADI-2 DAC vs Apogee Symphony Desktop to pair with Genelec 8330A+GLM

10bong

Hi

I'm a total newb and also Korean and I'm not used to this thread stuff, so sorry beforehand if I've made any mistakes

I've nearly made up my mind on buying Genelec 8330A+GLM kit as my monitoring system and trying to find a suitable substitude for my audio interface M-Track 2X2.

My main objective is mixing in the box and I don't plan to record(even if I need to it'll be for tests so I'll use M-Track 2X2) so the quality of DAC is my utmost priority.
I've done some limited research and heard that RME and Apogee make some decent DAC and I've narrowed down to these DAC/ interfaces

1. RME ADI-2 DAC version1 ( I don't think there will be much audible sonical differences compared to version2)
2. Apogee Symphony Desktop
3. Apogee Duet 3
4. Dangerous Source

Since my main focus is on mixing I want as neutral, natural and wide,deep image as possible in that price range
What would be your recommendation?

While writing this I heard a comparison of RME ADI-2 DAC and Dangerous Source and the latter seems to have more firm bass and wider image but lacks a little on the high...but more suitable for mixing. Have any of you had the same experience as me?

Matias

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Note that the 8330 is a digital monitor so you will be connecting to it via spdif/aes. The DAC quality of your interface will be irrelevant.
This +1. Get a good AES-EBU digital output audio interface to feed your Genelecs and you are good. Can be either RME or Apogee etc.

OP

10bong