• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

REW offline measurements, what should I put caution on ?

vair

Hi,

I've been lurking this forum for some months, thank you everyone for your fantastic data. Just bought a hidiz DAC and I'm super happy with it.
I'm a professional sound engineer (music recording/mix/mastering, website), and just started a job in car audio, diving more into acoustic measurements. This new job drove me to your forum.

Most of the time we have to do measurements in offline mode (aka open loop), meaning the computer isn't sending the measurement signal.
To access more information than whata frequency response can offer, I started to dive into room eq wizard.

Room eq wizard has this fantastic feature "import sweep recording" allowing exactly that. I was just wondering what could appear using this method ?
Is phase/group delay information reliable ? When playing on devices that have a bad quality DAC, how does this translate into the measurements ?

For example, I'm frequently seeing "drifting" in waterfall plot and don't know how to interpret those. For example, a strong resonnances (room mode ?) decaying at 150Hz that drift to 135Hz after 100ms. Can this be related to the measurement method ? Is it a phenomenon related to the (most of the time really crappy) speakers or is it purely acoustic ?

Not sure if I'm in the right section of the forum.. I have so many questions for you guys haha

Thanks for your answers !
Nicolas

AnalogSteph

Major Contributor
When playing on devices that have a bad quality DAC, how does this translate into the measurements ?