• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

REW filters into JRiver Convolution

Matias

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I spent some time trying to figure out how to make this work, gathering information from different sources, and now that it is working, I share below if someone is interested. I am far from an expert, but this is a starting point for noobs like me.

The basic idea is to make measurements with REW, create an EQ filter, export the filter as convolution wave files, and use them with JRiver Media Center. It is possible to do a lot more advanced operations (multichannel, speaker crossover, crosstalk, etc), but I am showing what I did for simple stereo playback only.

The convolution wave file has its tricks:
- Can use 1 mono wave file per channel, or 1 stereo wave file for 2 channels.
- The wave files are specific for a sampling rate (44.1, 48, 88.2, 96 kHz etc).

In REW, assuming one has done the measurements and created the EQ filters (see a tutorial here), then go to File - Export - Export filters impulse response as WAV.

1.jpg

I used Stereo file and selected each measurement (left/right speaker) to the corresponding left/right channel of the wave file. Then tick the boxes for which sample rates REW will create the EQ filter wave files. When saving, select a filename, and REW is going to create the wave file and append a suffix to the name with the sampling rate. Example: write "filter" and it will create "filter-44k.wav".

2.jpg

JRiver Media Center has a very manual way of configuring it to use the convolution wave files (see here). One can go to Audio - DSP - Convolution and choose one the options below: