• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Resources for newbie *listener*, not room acoustics

smania

I'm very new to this whole audio stuff... always listened to music in cheap speakers and headphones. I got my first pair of "serious" speakers and I can't believe how different they are... I can hear things I've never heard! I tried to read Recommended reading for new comers and inquisitive minds. but it seems those resources are mainly targeted to people looking to improve the acoustics of their environment or choose an amplifier etc etc but I think I'm at a step that is behind that:

how can I improve my listening, not the reproduction.
How can I feel "soundstage"? What kind of frequency response do I like? How do I feel "resonance"?

I think ideally I would need a resource like "listen to Fast Car by Tracy Chapman. Try to increase the EQ in the 2KHz region. Feel the <something here> compared to before?"
As a newbie I feel there are 10000 resources when it comes to improve the sound, but I can't find good resources on how to listen to audio... but how can I improve something I don't know in the first place?

Last edited:

ADU

Major Contributor
If you're interested in learning to listen to your recordings and equipment with a more critical ear, this is something which can take a bit of time to develop. I believe Harman has a course that you can can take to train your ears to better hear things like resonances and other imbalances in a speaker (or recording?) though. Here is one ASR topic discussing it...

Last edited:

ADU

Major Contributor
This is mostly about headphones, but I think some of it could also apply to speakers as well(?)...