• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Repair JBL SCS 125 Subwoofer Capacitor leak

RonSteel

Hello,

I have a JBL SCS 125 which is 5 satelite speakers and 1 subwoofer connected to a Harman Kardon AVR 300RDS.
Recently, the subwoofer kept turning on and off rapidly for 1 to 2 minutes before staying on.
It's only after that clicking on and off for 1 to 2 minutes that I could start using the subwoofer.

I'm new to repair and willing to learn so this is going to be my learning project.
On a youtube video you can find the problem I had:

In the comments section, someone suggested that the problem could be the 2 big capacitors 6800uF 50V 85°C that might have leaked.
When I opened up my subwoofer, there was some corrosion on the components that were near these 2 capacitors.
One of the capacitors leaked. So I removed both of them and installed 2 new ones 6800uF 50V 105°C .
And cleaned with isopropanol alcohol all I could clean and removed as much corrosion from near by resistors.
As well as removed as much brown glue as possible.

I tried the turn on the subwoofer, it turned on right away which felt like a victory but the speaker from the subwoofer wasn't reacting.
I thought almost there then.

After opening the subwoofer a second time, I tested with my digital multimeter surrounding components new the capacitors.
Resistors were giving almost the right values, the transistors C1815 and A1015 seemed to work well as well.
But I decided to change these 2 transistors with new ones which were for some reason smaller.
I swapped C1815 GR 0C with C1815 GR 331 and A1015 GR 0A with A1015 GR 331.
Now the subwoofer turns on and off repeatedly every seconds and make the subwoofer's speaker bump at the same pace.