• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Recording stereo samples for youtube

My adventures in stereo

I enjoy recording sound samples from my system and sharing on youtube
Have a pretty good collection of recordings on LP, CD & SACD
I make no money from this hobby

Used to record using my phone and found the sound quality sub par
Then I switched to a Shure MV 88 +, as an external USB mic, still found the sound quality to be sub par

Then switched to a USB audio interface with dual condenser mic's
Had a brief encounter with a MOTU M2, which sadly had a faulty USB C port and had to be returned
Currently using a pair of RODE NT5 with an Audient ID 14 interface
Using a ORTF configuration

I am very new to the recording part of things, would appreciate guidance and feedback on the audio recording quality

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Have a pretty good collection of recordings on LP, CD & SACD
There is no need for microphones. CDs can be "ripped" (digitally copied). I believe SACD can be ripped too but I think you have to crack the copy protection.

I make no money from this hobby
They can still take-down your post as a copyright violation.

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Actually sounds pretty good to me. OTOH, they might take it down for copyright issues.

Sounds a little sibilant, but that is a quality of the NT5's at least a little bit I think. You could EQ for the response of the microphones. Crudely shelve down the treble by 2 db from 5 khz to about 12 khz. And shelve up the low end by 2 db from 200 hz and lower.

I assume you wanted to let us hear what your system sounds like which is why a ripped CD isn't what you intended.

Midnight Audiophile