• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Recommendation for 2.1 system for Music Room

bigbrovar

Hello all,

I am in the process of adding a music room extension to my home office. This is my first attempt at a audiophile setup. My living room is an atmos setup with dual sub but it is tuned mostly for movies and listening to music on it is not a good experience.

The room is about 1040 Cubic ft (or 29 Cubic Meters) Measurement are W=11ft, L = 10.5ft, H = 9ft. I have attached a floor layout of the room to this post.

Based on the excellent work of @amirm and general positive review by users on here, I settled for the Aiyima A07 as power amplifier and the SMSL DO100 for my DAC.

Music source would come from a DIY music streamer made up of the Raspberry Pi4 paired with the Hifiberry Digi2 Pro (If I did this again I would have gone with the Allo Boss2 Dac for the Pi)

Before I discuss speakers, I would like to add an important context. I live in Nigeria but would be ordering most of my parts from the US. (The US and China are the 2 most accessible foresign markets accessible to Nigerians based on trade volumes and patterns) decided to order the AMP and DACs from China while the speakers would be ordered from the US.

For Speakers I am considering bookshelf speakers. But budget is around $150 (but I can go up to $250 if the speakers would greatly improve the experience)

I generally have an Eclectic taste in music although I tend to like indie, alternative side of the music spectrum. I also love folk, afrobeat (fusion of funk, jazz and West African high life music) You would also catch me listening to likes of Lofi, Ambient, and Chill Music.

Right now, and based on general review, the speakers I am looking at are: