• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Recent DAC purchase underwhelming

rog2020

I recently purchased the Schiit Modi and Magni DAC/Amp combo because my current PC soundcard, Soundblaster-Z, does not want to work with Linux. My thought was that since the digital output of the Soundblaster does work in Linux, I could use that and send to a DAC to listen to my headphones. When I'm in Windows, I would use the Soundblaster analog output.

I'm pretty disappointed in the sound I get out of the Schiit setup. It's really not even comparable to the Soundblaster, which I think sounds great. I'm a newbie when it comes to audio and DAC's, so I guess my question is am I doing something wrong here? I am using Audioquest Evergreen RCA cables, which look like good quality. My headphones are Sennheiser HD280 pro.

If I went with a different DAC, can I expect to get anything similar to the sound I get with the Soundblaster?

Thanks

A Surfer

Major Contributor
Provide more detail please, exact OS and the full signal chain. That will help people. I can't imagine that the Soundblaster-Z would sound better than the Modi. Which Modi version by the way. Welcome to the community.

Reactions: PSO

raif71

Major Contributor
Yes, welcome to ASR. If I understand you correctly, I'd would bypass the soundblaster digital out and connect straight from PC usb to the Modi usb in.

Reactions: PSO
OP
R

rog2020

Sound card: Soundblaster-Z

TOSLINK: KabelDirekt – 10 feet – Optical Digital Audio Cable (Fiber Optic, TOSLINK, Male to Male, Home Theater, Gold Plated, for Playstation/PS4 & Xbox – Pro Series)

Modi 3+

Audio quest Evergreen RCA Male to RCA Male Cable 1.97 ft.

Magni ( not sure the version, purchased 5 days ago)