• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Really pleased with my 8030c's, now for some room treatment.

UpTheSwanny

Hello, I've just got a pair of Genelec 8030c on the basis of the review and comments on here. I'm now interested in some treatment too. I've hung a really thick quilt behind me in my 10 feet x 6.5 feet room. the quilt is along the long wall. I've hung something similar along the opposite wall between the monitors. I'm pleasantly surprised by the difference.

I've completed a form on the GIK website for them to suggest an acoustic solution. There are no audio measurements involved. Just wondered if others have found their solutions worthwhile. I chose the 2 way listening solution, although I am a musician and have recorded acoustic guitars in the past. Would this kind of treatment be useful for recording? Although I can't play at the moment due to partial paralysis in my hands.

Thank you.

alex-z

Addicted to Fun and Learning
The majority of all room acoustic problems occur below the Schroederfrequency, the point at which your room starts having low wavelength reflections known as room modes.

A 10x6.5x8ft room is fairly small and will have problems up until 400Hz.

As general rule, everything above 100Hz can be treated with sufficiently thick panels, such as the GIK Acoustics 244, which is 5.25" thick. Certain products like their Soffit Bass Trap can work down to 60Hz due to the 17" thickness. Anything below 60Hz needs to be managed with multiple subwoofers.