• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

RCA soldering on a PCB?

KozmoNaut

I recommend 63/37 over 60/40, if you can find it. It melts easier and solidifies faster, reducing the risk of bad solder joints.

The reason is that its melting point is a precise temperature, not a range of temperatures, which makes it much more predictable.

boXem

Major Contributor
Audio Company
OK on the not lead-free. :oops:

My soldering skills are fine(not SMD). Lots of use over nearly 50 years.

Can you explain the very high melting point of the solder?? That was the problem.
Your soldering skills are certainly better than mine :).
On the melting point, I am not a solder expert, and since I do not intend to become one, I didn't do any research. In addition to the oxydation mentioned, I have two hypothesis:
- thermal cycles have an effect on the melting point
- some electrolytics structure act as a radiator, making the melting point of the old solder even more difficult to reach.

Killingbeans

Major Contributor
- some electrolytics structure act as a radiator, making the melting point of the old solder even more difficult to reach.

That's actually a better bet on an explanation than oxydation. Especially if the negative pin was soldered to a large solid ground plane. Most of the PCB + the capacitor would have acted as a cooling profile.

Wombat

Master Contributor
Your soldering skills are certainly better than mine :).
On the melting point, I am not a solder expert, and since I do not intend to become one, I didn't do any research. In addition to the oxydation mentioned, I have two hypothesis:
- thermal cycles have an effect on the melting point