• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

RaspberryPi Streamers & Spotify

chuckt62

Editor
I’ve been running Volumio on an old Pi2b for a couple months now and was getting ready to pull the trigger on the latest offer (3 months free). Unfortunately I see that the Volumio Spotify plugin is now broken. Apparently Spotify shut down some API libraries and at least some of the code needs to be rewritten.

Anyway, I’m wondering if any of the other Pi streamer OS‘s were affected. They would have quit working on the 16th when the Libs were shut down. As far as I can tell, only premium accounts would be affected and then exhibiting login failures.

msmucr

No issues here, just checked songs, albums, podcasts, playlists, shuffle etc.. I'm not really aware of any significant change at Spotify API, which would generally break 3rd party client access.
However I'm not sure how exactly the Volumio plugin is done.

There is quite a few of different plugins for media servers and Linux daemons (eg. services) which provides Spotify connect. But vast majority of ones are based on the common library, which is called librespot. I does heavy lifting and its just wrapped for various uses. I'd guess, that Volumio plugin for Spotify uses it as well.

The different alternative implementation is called librespot-java
As its name suggest, it's completely written in Java and requires JRE to run.

At project pages are no fresh reports about some seriously broken compatibility.
As I've mentioned, both works fine for me (I'm using it at different Raspberry Pi machines, both runs as manually installed packages at normal Raspberry Pi OS - no special media player Linux distribution like Volumio, Moode or so).