• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Questions about using one speaker with a stereo amp

ppataki

Major Contributor
I would like to understand what happens if I try to do the folllowings:

Connect one 8 ohm speaker to one of the outputs (let's say left) of an amplifier that outputs let's say 2x10 watts at 8 ohm (and 2x15 watts at 4 ohm) - in that case would the amp be able to drive that single speaker with 20 watts or only 10 watts or somewhere in between?

What if using the same amp and same speaker I connect the speaker to both outputs of the amp, like this:

1661630979265.png

Since I am not an engineer I would appreciate any educated comments
Thank you

NiagaraPete

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Option 2 will likely kill your amp. Back in the day 70’s you would use the positive connector from left and right to wire the speaker mono.
I’m not sure that is good advice so don’t try it. Wait for more information.

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Connect one 8 ohm speaker to one of the outputs (let's say left) of an amplifier that outputs let's say 2x10 watts at 8 ohm (and 2x15 watts at 4 ohm) - in that case would the amp be able to drive that single speaker with 20 watts or only 10 watts or somewhere in between?
10 Watts. Possibly slightly more depending the power supply. If the power supply is well regulated it won't change with the load. It's possible that the power supply voltage is a little higher with the lighter load of only one channel operating.

What if using the same amp and same speaker I connect the speaker to both outputs of the amp, like this:
DO NOT DO THAT!!!