• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Question(s) regarding THX 789 (THX 887) and DAC (clipping?)

all-air

Hello

I'm really a full-blown newbie when it comes to this sort of things unfortunately...

I currently have a Monoprice THX 887 (pretty much the same as the Massdrop THX AAA 789 I'm sure, I just made the title THX 789 since it is more well known I guess) and along with it a Chord Hugo 2 as my dac (biiiit overpriced what can I say...) connected with RCAs.
I've read that clipping can occur in high gain (Gain 3) when the dac outputs(?) more than 2v (is this the same as vmrs?), now my Hugo 2 Dac per standard outputs 3vrms I think, and I've used it with even higher vrms, as you raise its "internal volume"... To maybe about 5vrms? All my listening is on PC with Windows volume at 100% and Spotify Volume at max.

My question is, I haven't even noticed any clipping or such, not on high gain or medium (normal) gain, should I experience clipping? I'm using a pair of HD600 (mpedance: 300 Ohm, Sound pressure level: 97 dB) with XLR right now, but I've also tried it with 1/4 connection with Audeze LCD-GX (Impedance - 20 Ohms; Sensitivity - 100 DB/1mW). I've tried them all in high gain, and never experienced clipping, as far as I can tell.. Never maxed out the volume on high gain though, that would be pretty damn loud, not even close to max, but still, high gain.

And if I'm somehow deaf to clipping (!), can I have potentially damaged/worsen my headphones or amplifier without knowing? Or does clipping only exist when I use 1/4 or 3.5mm output on this amp? Or does the clipping only happen if I throw in an balanced dac to it?