• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Question for which headphone to buy between Sennheiser HD6XX vs Drop Dan Clark Audio Aeon Closed X Headphones or drop x Focal Elex Headphones

Shando

I was told the Sennheiser HD6XX is very good for its price at a much cheaper price compared to the non Massdrop version, but the bass is a bit lacking. I see Massdrop also have the Dan Clark Audio Aeon Closed X and Focal Elex Headphones, but never heard much discussion about them or if they are worth the upgrade. I am pretty new to headphones and I have been using the Drop PC38X for gaming, not sure if I can tell if there is only a slight upgrade or side grade difference between the first 3 headphones listed. I am planning on buying an amp which is maybe the Topping L70 or A30 Pro unless there are other recommendations for amps too please.

The Dan Clark Audio Aeon Closed X and Focal Elex are more expensive, but I do have a 20% off coupon which makes them more affordable and worth the upgrade for the price difference along with Drop refunding the tax right now.

Last edited:

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Very different headphones. What you will like best in terms of sound and comfort... no one can tell except you.
Some will prefer HD6XX, others the DCA and yet others the Focal.
So... you will be getting recommendations based on personal findings and preferences of others that may not reflect yours.

Seeing that you are using PC38X the HD6XX is closer to that (but with less bass and narrower stereo image)
The closed X will be more 'laid back' in sound. The Focal will be closer to HD6XX but might sound a bit 'metallic' in the treble compared to the others.
Some don't care or hear it. Some are bothered by it.