• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Puffin: dB Gain to Voltage Calculation?

watchnerd

Grand Contributor
I finally got around to hooking up the Parks Audio Puffin on kind loan from @BDWoody

While I'm still learning some of the features of the Puffin, gain staging of the cartridge is the question I have for now.

The cartridge in question is a new (maybe 7 hours of use so far) Audio Technica ART-7:

Output: 0.12mV (very low!)
DC Resistance: 12 ohm
Inductance: 8 µH (1 kHz)

The current configuration is:

TT -> Puffin -> Devialet line-in

Puffin Gain: 72 dB (max)
Devialet input voltage (configurable): 2V

[At some point I'll try other configurations, like using with my SUT or comparing the DSP tube simulation to real tubes, but we're keeping it simple for now].

Given that both the Puffin and Devialet have configurable gain, what are the rules of thumb for gain staging the phono stage vs the preamp input?

Would I be better off dropping the gain on the Puffin and increasing it on the Devialet?

I suppose the answer is hard to know without measuring noise. Also, FWIW, I believe both the Puffin and Devialet are conducting gain in the digital domain after ADC.

Last edited:
OP
watchnerd

watchnerd

Grand Contributor
Okay, doing a little calculator math:

Input: .00012V
Gain: 72 dB
Output: 0.48V

At a minimum, it sounds like I might want to drop the Devialet input voltage down from 2V to something lower, like 1V?

scott wurcer

Major Contributor
Audio Luminary
Technical Expert
I
Given that both the Puffin and Devialet have configurable gain, what are the rules of thumb for gain staging the phono stage vs the preamp input?

Would I be better off dropping the gain on the Puffin and increasing it on the Devialet?