• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Proving amplifiers are underpowered

Kyron

I'm new to Audio Science Review so I'm not really sure where to post this.

I hear and see a lot of claims that even a few watts is not enough to get the best out of some headphones. How can someone prove that an amplifier is underpowered for that headphone?
Would an underpowered amplifier give problems with a tone burst apart from obvious clipping in that it doesn't produce a constant output?
If you don't have access to expensive equipment what would be a good way to check the waveform?
Consider a set up where the amplifier is driving a headphone with a test signal and split the signal to the headphone with the other side feeding into a audio interface to capture the waveform. Is there a better way to do this?

audio2design

Major Contributor
There is a process here:

1) Listen to a piece of music at the max volume you want to.
2) Analyze the music file for the peak value.
3) Use a program to generate tones at that peak value (making sure you are not screwing up volume controls etc.)
4) Analyse distortion at various frequencies at this level. Ideally you would do IMD tests to but start simple.

A scope is crude for doing this test. A loop-back box will give much better test capability but depending on the amp and how grounded and your sound card may not work. Either way you can accomplish much without a high end instrument. Even a cheap ADC with an isolated USB can allow you to do pretty extensive testing.

raindance

Major Contributor