• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Proper Grounding Techniques of Shielded Ethernet Cable

cjf

Hello,

I've recently taken on the daunting task of building out a make shift Data Closet on the second floor of my 120yr old home in an effort to better organize and accommodate my needs. Being an IT guy by trade does help in this effort in terms of how to hook up everything and make it work but there is one aspect of this project that has left me scratching my head no matter how much research I do on the topic due to so much conflicting information on the Internet.

The topic of this thread is meant to focus on how to deal with the shields of an Ethernet cable. Some will say that this kind of cable isnt really needed in a home environment while others disagree. I myself thought using a shielded cable made sense, at the time, but the more I read the more I find myself on the fence.

A couple of points to mention up front. This will be in a home environment that has X 1 primary electrical feed to a 200a breaker box in the basement. There is also X 1 main ground point involved from the breaker box to a ground rod in the earth. All AC receptacles involved are of the 3 Prong type.

So with that information out of the way I will mention what information I have gathered thus far and hopefully the folks here can chime in on what they know of this subject and why one method would be better than another.

So lets start with the hardware involved:
Ethernet switches = Ubiquiti US‑8‑150W POE ( 8 Port, 1GB, 150w POE Power, 2 SFP Slots for Fiber). These switches use a 3 Prong Mains cable. These switches use shielded ETH Ports.
Ethernet Cable = Ubiquiti "Tough Cable" Pro CAT5e Outdoor rated, Foil Shielded