• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Primaluna preamp - measurements

Rockdog

I have a beautiful Primaluna Dialogue Premium preamp. I've recently evaluating going straight from dac to amp. I like both. Most music better through the tubes but some better straight pathed.

I'm just learning to read measurements and obviously the Primaluna is much higher distortion, much higher noise floor, and it generates second harmonics like that was it's job in life. I'm curious just how "bad" these Stereophile measurements are?
https://www.stereophile.com/content/primaluna-evo-400-preamplifier-associated-equipment

They gave this preamp a gushing A rating and claimed it measured well for a tube preamp. (This is a later model than mine, but essentially the same build, same quality parts, same tube compliments, so I think a safe bet that mine would test very closely)

I understand the tube vs. SS debate and not trying to start that again, but curious how you measurement gurus see this preamp? My power amp is very high gain so the preamp is staying on the low end of output voltage where measurements are better, nearly all the time.

It's beautifully hand built, point to point wiring, massive transformers, has civil output impedance, a remote.. its really a fine quality piece and has been flawless in performance, but considering selling and updating to all SS. Hmm.. tough cuz it does sound pretty, but my philosophy is changing..

RickSanchez

Major Contributor
Cartographer
A couple ASR posts that can help get you started on understanding the measurements here, in case you haven't read these already:
  1. https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...derstanding-digital-audio-measurements.10523/