• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Powerline noise on hifi linear power supply ?

diegooo1972

Hi all

I'm new to this wonderfull world of audiophile.
I'm an IT technician with some knowledge of elettronics.
I was wondering if power line adapter are well isolated and what Powerline carrier can do vs Power Supply.
They work usually in frequency between 20 and 200Khz.
As far as I know using the plug behind the powerline nearly suppress all the noise from powerline carrier.
I prefer to use the plug on the Powerline instead of a neighborhood plug.
That's because using the powerline I have this 20-200khz carrier on the line.
Now the question.
Will this 20-200Khz carrier can influence power supply ? Like 5v or 12v linear PS for example that are so important to a good DAC ?
Of course ethernet cable is always the best choice but not always possible.
Wifi may introduce problem in connection stability and disturbance under a variety of circumstances. My last favourites connection always.
Considering that as IT technician power line is the second best choice. If it work without problem.
For example there are some cases here in Europe where 220v AC came from phases of 380v. In that case Powerline may have problem.
Can someone make a test on a linear power supply behind Power line ?
Or this is not a problem for some specific electronics consideration i'm not able to do ?
Sorry if this is not an important question.
I just can't evaluate that.

Thanks for your attention.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
SMPS should have a mains filter inside which prevents HF generated by the SMPS not to enter the mains.
When that SMPS has a relatively high capacitor on its input this could attenuate the carrier used for data transmission.