• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Power amplifier gain change sound?

smok333

Hello, i'm a noob with audio electronics, i'm reading on this forum and there's alot of info and graphs that i don't really understand , so can please someone explain in noob terms the folowing :
1. i have an xtz edge a2-300 power amplifier ( 2 x icepower 300 , with 150w/ch@8ohm) connected to Dynaudio excite x14 speaker 83db sens ( bought higher powerd amp because everyone says dynaudio needs more power) , i have a gain knob on the back of the amp ... does lowering the gain change the quality of the music? like dynamic range / soundstage etc? .. or it's just like a "volume" knob and just change the power output of the amp.
2. if i buy to use as a preamp a dac with no volume control , or a sabaj d5 / topping d70 ... will the volume control affect the sound in preamp mode ? from what i've read on this forum you need to set it up at max or -12db to sound the best.
3. https://www.amazon.com/Nobsound-Precision-Passive-Controller-Preamplifier/dp/B07GRMM9XT will something like this help or it will change the sound quality?

i am scared that if i need to set the power amp gain to max and buy something like a topping d3xpro which with a wrong press of a button can change to 100% volume can blow my speakers
p.s. sorry for my bad english

solderdude

Grand Contributor
does lowering the gain change the quality of the music? like dynamic range / soundstage etc? .. or it's just like a "volume" knob and just change the power output of the amp.

Neither, the volume control changes the input sensitivity of the amp.

When using a DAC as pre-amp you just need to adjust the XTZ just once.

Set the XTZ to minimum. Set your DAC to max output level.