• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Power amplifier DIY builds..

Audio tech

Hello to all..

I'm a time serviced electronics tech by trade and have been repairing many brand name amplifiers over the years.

Now, during 2008 my scrap pile was getting a littte out of hand with lots of blown large power amplifier from crown, peavey, marshall valve amps etc..

Mmm a real haven for lots of parts..ie, heatsinks, large transformers and rack cases.. So, one evening during tea, the light bulb goes off above my head of building a 300w per channel power amplifier for my own use..yes I know, it's easier to buy one in the shops..but, to build your own from pcb to end product unit and say..yes here's my one off amp.

So it had to have lots of protection circuits from soft start circuit, short circuit protect, dc offset protection and over heat cut out etc..

The circuit had to be very, very stable into different speaker loads from 4..8..even 16 ohms even bridge mode if needed( but never had to).

Still after 2 weeks of different circuits trials and wham there it was. 300w per channel of clean power, well my speakers seemed to wake up more in sound!

So who else out there has built there audio amp that does what it says on the tin..and non of this so called pmpo stuff and blows up to quick!

Well happy trails to you all.

SIY

Grand Contributor
Technical Expert
/raises hand

I should qualify this by saying that I design for real-world operation and extensively use measurement to validate them. No voodoo (other than my aesthetic preference for tubes), just engineering.

OP
A

Audio tech

Amen to that..