• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Ports question - RCA vs USB vs Optical

AmalfiMan

I’m new to dac amps and born into a word of wifi, Bluetooth and wireless everywhere.

I noticed there are RCA IN, USB B, USB C, Optical, Coaxial, Bluetooth. Do each of these have a different quality of sound?

Let’s assume you have all the cables and adapters available, and there are multiple devices with a variety of ports. And you just want to listen to music on macbook or PC.

Should USB be used first as a rule of thumb? Is it true RCA ports are weaker?

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Generally there is no difference. Digital data is digital data...

An optical S/PDIF connection avoids ground loops which can happen with an RCA connection. A ground loop can result in hum, but that's hum getting-into the analog circuitry.

Wireless connections also minimize the possibility of ground loops, but there's more chance of "glitching" (when the transmission gets interrupted or interfered with). You are also more likely to get latency (delay) but a few milliseconds of delay is only a problem if you are watching a video and the audio & video are out-of-sync.

I think USB can handle more formats because any conversion can be done with the software/drivers. For example, most stand-alone DACs can't decode Dolby Digital or any of the other compressed audio from DVDs & Blu-Rays but the USB should work just like any regular soundcard. But for the same reason, it might sometimes "hide" conversions or down-sampling.

Is it true RCA ports are weaker?