• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

PLEX?

Spider

I have just purchased a Plex Pass for a year.
Downloaded: Plex Media Server+PlexAmp & Plex Media Player.
I read some reviews about the services, & I must say my opinion remains positive.
I thought it was crapware, but sometimes(not often)you get surprised.
What do you think about the service as a whole?:)

sarumbear

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I am a long time Plex users and have a Pass since it was introduced. However, I don't use their channels. I use Plex to stream films from my NAS.

JayGilb

Major Contributor
I've been using Plex (paid subscription) for several years and mostly use it to stream movies, but also have a lot of music loaded.

Last edited:

NiagaraPete

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I use Plex and Plexamp. It works great and it’s inexpensive. I just wish they’d add DLNA for music and not rely on Airplay 2.

NiagaraPete

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Well thanks, I’ll check that out

Berwhale

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I started paying for a Plex Pass in 2013 and bought a lifetime Plex Pass in 2014. Previously, I'd run XBMC on two HTPCs, but keeping the metadata up to date on two machines was wasteful of my time and bandwidth (there were ways to create a shared database, but it was not trivial).

I don't use any of Plex's new TV and Film streaming channel, I play local content and watch and record the odd bit of terrestrial TV from my HD Homerun which integrates nicely with Plex.

kiwifi

I don't use any of Plex's new TV and Film streaming channel, I play local content and watch and record the odd bit of terrestrial TV from my HD Homerun which integrates nicely with Plex.
I use Kodi to do the same thing and it's free!

Blumlein 88