• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Picked up some 660s on sale looking for a budget/ bang for buck amp for use with my iPhone 12 Pro for listening at my home office.

Jamesj562

Picked up some Sennheiser 660s headphones over holiday and I’d like to find an amplifier that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg for home listening via iPhone 12 Pro Max I primarily use Apple Music lossless in my car I have a full 3 way active audiofrog setup with helix DSP and amplifiers. I have a topping d10s dac in my car that I use the camera kit to output from my iPhone to the dac to the DSP.

Is the topping NX1s adaquite or am I way off I am a complete newbie to headphone amplification and I would appreciate any pointers. Thanks!

Last edited:
OP
J

Jamesj562

And just to mention after a few hours of searching and reading it looks like the Atom Amp+ would be a nice choice for budget option. I’m just curious how I would output from my iPhone to the amp

staticV3

Master Contributor
The original NX1 is specified at 2.9Vrms max voltage.
According to Sennheiser's own specs that's enough for a little over 121dB SPL with the 660S.
ReferenceAudioAnalyzer, an independent tester, measured 2dB/Vrms lower sensitivity with their 660S unit, so a little over 119dB SPL.
In any case, the NX1 will be plenty loud enough with that headphone.

Just two things:
-The NX1 is a pure Amp, so you will need to use an additional headphone dongle to get an analog signal out of your iPhone which the NX1 can then amplify. (Something like the Apple A2049 will do the job)
-Its been almost eight years since the NX1 was released and it has since been discontinued.