• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Phonostage - Sutherland 20/20 vs Manley Chinook - Am I Crazy? Other options?

miketeachesclass

Forum Donor
I brought home a Sutherland 20/20 with LPS from a local shop because my Manley Chinook is experiencing some ground noise, and the Sutherland is well reviewed. The shop was willing to loan it to me for a few days to try out.

I was fully expecting to love the Sutherland and drop the nearly 3k on the pre and the LPS.

Let me preface this by saying I have limited experience with varying phonostages, and my experience is a mofi low end phonostage ~$150, my Chinook, this Sutherland, and the built in MM stage on my mcintosh MA352. I also hate myself a little bit for using a handful of the below subjective terms.

I just felt the Sutherland was a little thin in comparison to the Chinook. The midrange felt a little squashed together, and the Chinook seemed to allow instruments in the midrange maintain separation more than the Sutherland. In particular, there are guitar parts that I had to listen very closely for on the Sutherland that were easier to hear on the Chinook. Not that they were mid forward on the chinook necessarily - just seemed to have greater midrange clarity.

Same thing for low frequency punch; the Chinook just seemed to have a little more weight down there. The high frequencies seemed comparable on both units.

The soundstage on the Sutherland seemed a little "flat", and the chinook, a little more "3D" (This is the stuff I absolutely hate myself for saying, but I'm not sure how else to describe it - the Chinook just seemed to allow things to be placed in space/the stereo image more accurately, and with more separation/clarity.)