• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Phase issue causing dip in 13.5k range?

datapata

Hello! Im new to all of this, and I don't know all the terminology and thus have a hard time to search for an answer. But here goes!

I measured with a UMIK-1, 48k, 20-2000khz. No EQ have been applied. LR measurement is a "true" measurement, i.e not vector averaging L & R. But if I vector average I get essentially the same frequency response.

Ive got a pair on Genelec 8030s and I have this issue causing a big dip around the 13.5k. Just looking at the frequency responses of L & R it doesn't look like a dip in one channel would bring the LR measurement down.

1/3 Smoothing
Freq 1:3.png

Here is a 1/3 smoothed phase of L and R. As you can see the channels seems to be around 180 degrees, which if I understand correctly would essentially cancel out that frequency?

L & R 1:3.png

Non smoothed phase looks pretty all over the place?
L & R no-smoothing.png

And here is the LR phase
LR 1:3.png

So.
* Is it common that L and R have such different phase response? Is it due to the room?
* What can I do to fix this? Do I have to use something like rephase or is one speaker defect?

Thanks!

ernestcarl

Major Contributor
Just use an acoustic timing reference if you are using a USB mic.

1679958633960.png

Nowadays, I just use some pre-recorded tracks as I've found it gives far more stable results with my UMIK-1 and software media player (JRiver).

1679958683066.png

*full-range PN + Silence + Time Referenced Sweep

OP
D

datapata

Just use an acoustic timing reference if you are using a USB mic.

Im using essentially the same settings, except the length.

Screenshot 2023-03-28 at 10.01.51.png