• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Parasound HCA-1000a Measurement

dumpingg

I am new to measuring amps. My first effort and the software and test setup are described here:
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...ement-setup-panasonic-xr57-avr-example.10589/

I have an older Parasound HCA-1000a Power Amplifier that I decided to measure. Specs are here:
https://www.parasound.com/vintage/hca1000a.php

• Continuous Power Output - Stereo:
    125 watts RMS x 2, 20 Hz - 20 kHz, 8 Ω, both channels driven;
    200 watts RMS x 2, 20 Hz - 20 kHz, 4 Ω, both channels driven
  • Continuous Power Output - Mono:
    400 watts RMS, 20 Hz - 20 kHz, 8 Ω
  • Current Capacity:
    45 amperes peak per channel
  • Slew Rate:
    >130 V/µsecond
  • Power Bandwith:
    5 Hz - 100 kHz, +0/-3 dB at 1 watt
  • Total Harmonic Distortion:
    < 0.03% at full power; < 0.01 % typical levels
  • IM Distortion:
    < 0.03 %
  • TIM:
    unmeasurable
  • Dynamic Headroom:
    > 1.5 dB
  • Interchannel Crosstalk:
    > 80 dB at 1 kHz; > 60 dB at 20 kHz
  • Input Sensitivity:
    1 V for 28.28 V, THX Reference Level; 1.1 V for full output
  • Input Impedance: 33 k Ω
  • S/N Ratio: > 116 dB, full power; > 96 dB, THX Reference Level

Test Overview Photo:
1577824012494.png

At here are the results, HCA-1000a, 4ohm dummy load, 5watt power, 1khz sine 0dbfs
Parasound HCA1000a 4ohm 5watt 1khz tone.jpg

Comments on my test and measurement setup welcomed. I have a few more pieces of audio equipment I plan to measure in the coming weeks.

pkane

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I am new to measuring amps. My first effort and the software and test setup are described here: