• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Parametric EQ for headphones - what do shelf filters do?

Sukie

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
I've never used parametric eq before but, as Moode Audio has now incorporated a 12 band eq in its latest release, I thought I'd give it a try with my Sennheiser HD 600s. I looked at the Oratory 1990 list and started to input this into the Moode eq. The Moode eq doesn't have shelf filters, everything is peak filter only.

My questions is this: how much do shelf filters affect the sound? The HD 600 10 band preset includes 1 X low shelf and 1 X high shelf.

Apologies for my ignorance on this matter!

somebodyelse

Major Contributor
With a shelf the frequency response goes up or down then stays at that level, rather than returning to 'normal' as it would with a peak. I don't see the filters (dropbox link playing up for me) but I guess the low shelf is boosting the falling bass on the HD600. If you use a peaking filter instead of the shelf you'll get the initial boost around the filter frequency, but it will fall back again in the lower bass.

You could try the precomputed filters from autoeq as they only use peaking:
https://github.com/jaakkopasanen/Au...ry1990/harman_over-ear_2018/Sennheiser HD 600

OP
Sukie

Sukie

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
With a shelf the frequency response goes up or down then stays at that level, rather than returning to 'normal' as it would with a peak. I don't see the filters (dropbox link playing up for me) but I guess the low shelf is boosting the falling bass on the HD600. If you use a peaking filter instead of the shelf you'll get the initial boost around the filter frequency, but it will fall back again in the lower bass.