• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Pairing a different AMP/DAC brand?

Vix

Hello,
I'm new to the AMP/DAC area so I'm curious if I should pair the Zen Can amplifier with the Topping E30 DAC since it comes cheaper and doesn't have MQA, plus it has a cleaner and linear sound signature according to reviews, my concern is: would the E30 affect the Zen Can's signature in a bad way or would the linear signal from the E30 help produce a more accurate sound?

My idea is using the Zen Can's signature for my HE400i 2020 cans, considering the Zen Dac comes a bit higher priced than the Topping E30 when I calculate all the EU taxes and import with MQA support and an additional amp which I don't need at all nor do I intend to use it.

Last edited:

threni

Major Contributor
Hello,
I'm new to the AMP/DAC area so I'm curious if I should pair the Zen Can amplifier with the Topping E30 DAC since it comes cheaper and doesn't have MQA, plus it has a cleaner and linear sound signature according to reviews, my concern is: would the E30 affect the Zen Can's signature in a bad way or would the linear signal from the E30 help produce a more accurate sound?

My idea is using the Zen Can's signature for my HE400i 2020 cans, considering the Zen Dac comes a bit higher priced than the Topping E30 when I calculate all the EU taxes and import with MQA support and an additional amp which I don't need at all nor do I intend to use it.